Music: Sun Dec 13


The music of Franz Schubert programmed for this morning’s Gathering Music brings to mind a phrase from the musicologist Edward T. Cone, who alluded to “promissory notes” in the work of the greatest composers. The expression denoted the large-scale implications of seemingly incidentals details offered articulated early on in a masterwork. The idea is that there are no accidents: every fleeting eccentricity has its consequences and justification as the piece unfolds. The two works of Schubert illustrate this principle, with the smallest intervals and modal inflections in initial themes often generating explosive outbursts later on.


In other musical selections, the work of composers of African descent is on display, from the worlds of Jazz and Ragtime, as well as the more classical utterances of R. Nathaniel Dett.

The CUUC Choir is on hand as well, with a virtual performance of a “What a Wonderful World,” full of the good cheer and optimism so widely needed in these times.

Read on for programming details.

Gathering Music: Adam Kent, piano

Moment Musical in Ab Major, Op. 94, No. 2

Sonata in C Minor, Op. Posth.

            II. Adagio

                                    Franz Schubert


Centering Music:
Pastime Rag No. 3

                                    Artie Matthews


Opening Music: CUUC Choir directed by Lisa N. Meyer and accompanied by Georgianna Pappas

“What a Wonderful World”

                                    Bob Thiele (as "George Douglas") and George David Weiss


Musical Meditation:

                                    Duke Ellington


Interlude I:
“Honey” from In the Bottoms

                                    R. Nathaniel Dett

Interlude II:
The Entertainer

                                    Scott Joplin


Parting Music:
Birmingham Breakdown

                                    Duke Ellington

No comments:

Post a Comment