Music: Sun Jun 20


Percussionist Julie Licata

Julie Licata is currently Associate Professor of Music at State University of New York, College at Oneonta where she teaches percussion ensembles, percussion and drumset lessons, and courses in world music. Over the last twenty years, Julie has presented solo percussion and chamber ensemble recitals across the US, commissioning and premiering works by rising and prominent composers from the US and beyond. Julie’s performances range from improvisational soundscapes and works with interactive computer processing, to solo marimba, orchestra and theater pit orchestra, to West African drum ensembles and Indonesian gamelan.

In addition to performing regularly with several regional orchestras and theater companies, Julie has recently presented solo and chamber performances at the Pantaleoni Concert Series in Oneonta, NY, the College Music Society Southern Regional Conference, the 10th Annual Flute Festival of Junín, Argentina, the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the US (SEAMUS), the International Computer Music Conference (ICMC), and CHIMEFest in Chicago, IL.

Julie is also an active member of the Percussive Arts Society, having served as a new literature reviewer for the Percussive Notes journal and as a member of the PAS University Pedagogy and Diversity Committees. Julie is also a member of the Black Swamp Percussion Educator Network and is the recent past Secretary/Treasurer and Interim President of the PAS NY Chapter. Julie holds degrees from the University of North Texas (DMA), University of South Carolina (MM), and Capital University (BM). For more information about Julie’s musical activities, please visit www.julielicata.com.

Gathering Music: Julie Licata, marimba

Prelude V for marimba (2015)
                                    Anna Ignatowicz-Gliñska

Prelude in A Minor for marimba (2006)
                                    Casey Cangelosi

Rotation #4 (1996)
                                    Eric Sammut

Centering Music:
Violin Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004
                                    J. S. Bach

Opening Music:

Medley of "The Lord's Prayer" / "Amazing Grace" / "Ave Maria"

            Original arr. by Albert Hay Malotte (1934); this arr. by Julia Hillbrick (1996) 


Musical Meditation:
Violin Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004


                                    J. S. Bach



Memories of the Seashore (1987)

                                                Keiko Abe 

Parting Music: with Ana Laura Gonzalez, flute

"Concert d'Aujourd'hui" from L'Histoire du Tango

                                                Astor Piazzolla

No comments:

Post a Comment